It’s alive!!!

its-alive

I’m here darlings. Soberneering, reading, working too much and having a damn fever for 3 weeks in a row that just won’t give. But apparently I have been sober for 180 days in a row!

Really, the last 80 of those have just flown by. If you’re in the beginning and every hour feels like a week, trust me, that will change. I know we all think we are special little snowflakes and yeah yeah, everybody else apparently manages to stop thinking about wine every hour on the hour but that is because they’re not as special as I am! But hey, honey, we’re all special in the same way. Trust me. Wine won’t be your go to answer if you just manage to quit drinking for a while. I still suffer from magical thinking though, I still hope there’s something out there that will just make all my problems and discomfort go away, but while I’m searching for that magic something I’m here, living life – somewhat present, and just … handling stuff as they come along. Keeping on keeping on you know?

 

 

6 thoughts on “It’s alive!!!

    • I of course also thought I was a very special snowflake and didn’t REALLY think ‘not-drinking’ could feel normal. I assumed I was going to always feel deprived and like I was living without any joy and that every day would feel like a long swim in lukewarm dog wee … But it’s not!It’s not superfantastic either but at least I don’t have to worry about all the extra shit that comes with alcohol abuse.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Good to hear from you. That’s a lot of days. It’s wild that they fly by without you noticing. Isn’t that a great feeling? I had it happen to me with the nicotine quit I’m on the other day. I realized I hadn’t even thought about it. Which is amazing. Curtis Mayfield is the best. Good tune!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

